February 17, 2010

  • Staples and Hauls

    I used to draw and paint a lot, then somehow over time the urge ceased. Once in a great while I would push myself to pick up that paint brush and with great difficulty to get back to what I used to love to do. I wonder if I was too hard on myself or perhaps I never got it right. The inspiration slowly ebbed away from me and I've been waiting to get it back since.

    I find other artistic outlets to supplement my old hobby like taking pictures or even cooking as I find it in a way therapeutic. I don't exactly remember when it all started, but I began to collect cosmetics, among other things. I collect various things; various hobbies you can say. I love playing with colors, color pigments and texture. I collected a lot, too much perhaps, but I loved it. Here are some of the cosmetics and skincare that I've collected over the recent months and some are my regular staples. These are only a small fraction to what I personally own:



    YSL Rouge Volupté lipstick in #3 Ultimate Beige, $34. High quality, very pigmented and creamy. I quite like this even though I'm usually not much of a lipstick person.



    Cle de Peau Extra Silky lipsticks. I haven't tried these yet, among the many many cosmetics items that I hauled lately. These lipsticks are suppose to be incredibly soft when being applied  and gives a sheer finish with enough pigment. It had gotten many raves reviews from users. With a $52 price tag per lipstick I expect to be blown away so we'll see



    Cle de Peau Extra Silk Lipsticks in #114 (left) and #116 (right)




    Guerlain KissKiss Liplift $30
    Has a waxy consistency. The description says that it smooths and evens out the texture on the lips. It also helps prevents color from feathering and bleeding if the person like to wear reds or dark colors. Can be a bit drying, best to layer a thin lip balm underneath like Smith's Rose Salve. Overall, this is a good lip primer, providing a neutral base. The only downside is probably the price, a bit expensive for just a lip primer, but I do like the packaging.



    Guerlain Terracotta Pearly Shell Illuminating Sun Powder $65
    Just as the name suggests, it really illuminates the complexion. The colour has a caramel hue and is very sheer, best with fair skin. It does create a nice glow to the skin but not quite like a 'bronzer', which I prefer since I've never really used a bronzer before.




    Guerlain Meteorites Poudre de Perles Nacre Des Mers $65
    More of a highlighter, gives skin a polished healthy glow. It is very pretty. I got this as a gift from of my lovely QT.




    Suqqu Blend lipsticks from the Sakurakage Spring 09 collection with sakura themed. I think these were 5250 yen each which is equivalent to $58 (!) each. Yeah I know, with the yen being so strong right now, the price for these lipsticks seems outrageous. Luckily, I got them for a very good deal.



    Suqqu Blend Lipsticks in #17 Maizakura (left), #18 Saebana (middle), #19 Tsuyazakura (right)



    Shu Uemura x Tsumori Chisato Planet Cat Palette $65



    Not sure if I'm keeping this palette since I have so much stuff. Palette contains a regular size blush in coral-pink with a touch of gold; a regular sized eyeshadow in frosty silver; a small shadow in sparkly black; another small eyeshadow in a copper-bronze color; a cream eyeliner in a purple-toned black, and a white cream highlighter. It also comes with two small brushes, one a dual-tipped sponge shadow applicator, the other a dual-tipped brush for blush and eyeliner.




    La Mer The Lip Balm $45 and Fresh Lip Treatment in Rose SPF15 $22.50
    I have not used the La Mer lip balm yet because I still got a lot of lip balms to go through but I've read many good reviews for it. It is the most expensive lip balm I've ever purchase so i'll review it after I try it out.

    The Fresh Lip Treatment is one of the best seller of the line. I didn't use it after purchasing it in a big haul. I gave it away to my sister since she's been using it, and because I have a lot of other lip balms that I haven't even touch. I collect too much....



    Some of the lip balms that I have and have used, only the La Mer I haven't used yet. The two Japanese lip balms from Kiss and Tiffa I've already used and they were ok, nothing too specular. My staple is still the Smith's Rose Salve. It is the best on any dry patches, flaky areas, cracked skin etc. I used it as my lip balm at night before I go to bed.



    Some Japanese lip balms I bought because of the cute packaging. Always a sucker for cute packing....



    Aesop Camellia Nut Facial Hydrating Cream $43
    This cream doesn't do wonders, but it is a good moisturizer that is made of natural ingredients. The cream is thick, but absorbs quickly. It is good to use in the winter or maybe to use for the neck and decollete area.




    GoSMILE Jet Set Travel Kit $12

    Free of:
    Parabens
    Sulfates
    Synthetic Dyes
    Petrochemicals
    Phthalates
    GMOs
    Triclosan

    I got this with a order I placed and for any upcoming travel trips. Another brand I really like is Supersmile, they have this No Brush/No Rinse On-The-Go Whitening Tooth Polish, I love having it when I travel.





    Kiehl's Soy Milk & Honey Body Polish
    This is a gentle polish, noticed I said polish not scrub. It smells like its name, milk and honey. Thick and creamy texture that lathers well. I like that it doesn't leave and greasy residue, I first bought it when winter began to hit and I was craving for warmth and comfort. I find that I always crave for foodie scents in the winter. I don't mind that scent but I don't absolutely love it either. Overall, it does its job, my skin feels soft and smooth after.

    REN Guerande Salt Exfoliating Body Balm $37

    Aveda Caribbean Therapy Body Scrub $39.95
    This is a salt and cane sugar scrub with a blend of coconut, avocado, and passionfruit oils. It has a very uplifting citrusy aroma. Though the smell is great, the oils are very emollient therefore it leaves my skin feeling a little greasy. Not that it's a bad thing, some people prefer that in cold dry climate, but I don't love the over emollient residue on my skin. It is a effective scrub for dry skin. I prefer to use this on my feet since it's probably the one place on my body that is most neglected and most abused.




    Staple: Clarins Gommage Tonic Corps - Toning Body Polisher $37.50
    Very aromatic and invigorating with Mint, Rosemary, Rosewood and Geranium essential oils. Does not leave greasy residue. My new favorite, when I have stressful day or sore muscles I like to rub this on my body before getting into the hot bath. It is very menthol and when I soak in the tub and the oils infuse with the hot water, I feel very relaxed as if all the tension from my body is alleviated. I like the cooling sensation it leave on my skin.

    Staple: REN Guerande Salt Exfoliating Body Balm $37
    I like the the product is free of:
    - Parabens
    - Sulfates
    - Synthetic Fragrances
    - Synthetic Dyes
    - Petrochemicals
    I'm on my second tub and have another backup. It smells of peppermint, rosemary and menthol. It does not leave greasy residue like some other salt scrubs. It is very gentle and does leave the skin very soft. I love the smell



    Embryolisse is a classic product that you'd find in French pharmacies. My first experience with it was a few years back when I asked my sister to get me tube when she was studying abroad in France. I now keep a tube hidden in the background somewhere. It is a simple moisturizer, very soothing and hydrating. One of the best kept secrets out there.



    Staple: Clarins One-Step Gentle Exfoliating Facial Cleanser $35
    2 in 1 cleanser and gentle defoliator with an orange citrus scent. Leave skin soft and supple. I love the scent and it works very well.




    Jo Malone Vitamin E Nourishing Hand Treatment $40
    Have not used, but will write about it later

    Kanebo Sensai Cellular Intensive Hand Treatment $90
    Have not used yet

    Staple: Aveda Hand Relief
    I always forget about my hands, but in the winter I try to be more diligent by having a tube of Hand Relief at my bedside. I would usually apply hand cream at night, squeezed out about a pea size amount as the cream is very thick. Though I try to remember about my hands but the part that is most neglected are my poor feet.





    Staple: Shu Uemura 'Moyoco Anno White Recovery EX+' Brightening Cleansing Oil $75
    This gentle cleansing oil leaves the skin appearing more even-toned, translucent and smoothed.
    I always have at least one of these bottles around. It lasts a long time and it good for taking off stubborn makeup like waterproof mascara.
    Right now I'm using the "Brightening" which smell pleasantly enough, I still have 3-4 Shu Cleansing Oil bottles that will last me for a very long time.


    Collector: Shu Uemura Depsea Water in Myrtle, Orange Flower, Midori, Momonomi, Yuzu $24




    Cucina Hand Cream/Hand Soap Duo - Coriander and Olive Oil
    I have this on my bathroom sink. I like to use this for bathrooms and kitchen. I love the smell. The Coriander and Olive is one of my favorite scent from the line, and I like the Dish Detergent soap in this scent too as it provoke the senses of a home chef.




Comments (3)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Categories